Skip to content

My ALA Council Ballot, So Far

The ALA election ends on April 24, and I’ve really got to get my ballot filled out and submitted. In no particular order I list the people I’ve already added to my ballot for ALA Council (the governing body for the American Library Association, which elects the Executive Board, which really runs the show):

Chris Harris — outstanding go-getter in the school media world; as the developers say, “++”
Marilyn L. Hinshaw — Marilyn’s a good person, hard worker, good rep
Christine Lind Hage — Christine is smart, fun, and a thinker, and knows ALA well
Courtney L. Young — Active in NMRT, good rep
Peter D. Hepburn — Smart, forward-thinking, a diplomat
Aaron W. Dobbs — Please! Vote for Aaron! He’s a tech type with many great insights… that we can’t elect Aaron drives me crazy (and he *won’t stop* until he’s elected!)
Trevor A. Dawes — Astute, creative, wide-ranging thinker/leader
Dale Poulter — Strong tech background, would help move us forward
June A. Pinnell-Stephens — A long-time ALA leader in intellectual freedom, a lot of fun, and a good soul (as are all these folks, really)

Folks I don’t know as well but I’ll vote for based on “friend of a friend” recommendations:

Linda Shippert
Clayton S. Garthwait
Tiffani Conner

Did I leave off anyone else? Do not go cry in your pillow… it’s a very long ballot and though I agree on mixing the order on it, I get a bit overwhelmed. I won’t necessarily agree with your suggestions, but you’re welcome to post them. (There are some people I’m very intentionally not voting for, but you’ll have to go off-blog for that info.)

Posted on this day, other years: